First Previous - Page 1 of 1 - Next Last

New Client Software

• 8 posts
  • # 112399

Hello there

I am new to the forum, and have a question! I am a qualified bookkeeper and starting up a new bookkeeping service. I am a little unsure however, when I get a new client, how to provide software. Is it standard for a bookkeeper to have software in place and provide this for the client, or do you set them up on a new subscription, which they cover the cost for?

If they are already using software or excel, then I could continue to use that for them, but with clients who don't currently have any sofware, is there a standard practise. I have worked for a bookkeepers previously where each new client was subscribed to Xero, which the client was invoiced for monthly.

Many thanks in advance for your help!

Lisa

• Fellow PM.Dip
  • Practice Licence
  • 225 posts
  • # 112400

I can't comment on other software, however, as a Xero only paractice, the Xero subscription for my clients is included in their monthly fee. I don't do hourly rates, only fixed monthly charge, and therefore the Xero fee is included(built-in the pricing structure).

I am sure others will give you insight in to how they work with other subscription software, desktop software and using excel. I personally would never use Excel to do anyone's books, its a spreadsheet and not an accounting system - just my opinion.

• 8 posts
  • # 112401

Thank you for you reply, so depending on which way pricing is done, it is a cost thats covered by the client ideally. 

As someone starting out, I have thought about going with an hourly rate, perhaps £17-£18 initially. I suppose it would vary greatly from client to client how many hours go into each. Do you think then that the software would be a fee I absorb into the hourly rate, or invoice the client for seperatly?

Thanks for your help!

• Fellow PM.Dip
  • Practice Licence
  • 33 posts
  • # 112402

Hi Lisa,