First Previous - Page 1 of 1 - Next Last

Self Assessment for newly self-employed

• 8 posts
  • # 114418

Hello,

I have been trading now for four months and would like to offer self-assessment to clients.

I was learning through the AAT and passed level 2 and 3, and carried on the take level 4 2015-2016. I did a full year at level 4 however there were some exams I did not pass at a second attempt even though I thought I knew them relatively well! I had to stop in the end due to financial reasons, as I'm sure a lot of you are aware the AAT courses and exams are not cheap and my tutor at the time was not being very helpful.

That was a big knock to my confidence as I usually pass an exam and learn quickly and I now do not feel as if I can competently do a client's self-assessment. My issue now is where to turn next. Do I use a different kind of resource i.e. Osbourne Books around £11.50 each online or the ICB book at £75.00 and re-study and try for the ICB exam? As I have already spent £0000's on AAT I do not really want to go through a different training provider and spend the same money again!

I have been in contact with a local bookkeeping lady who has said she will go through a 'dummy' online submission with me which I'm hoping will help, but is there something else I should do too?

Any advice is gratefully recieved.

Kind regards,

Marie.

• 75 posts
  • # 114421

Hello Marie

I hope you are well. I am similar to you and come from an AAT background having completed mine in 2012. I wanted a refresher and decided to take up the ICB qualifications on a self study basis which I've found very beneficial. I passed my L3 in August and decided to do the SA 2015-16 using the same method and purchased the Osborne books (workbook and tutorial) for Personal and Business Taxation. They are very good and definately enough to pass the ICB exam. I got 99% on my mock and actual so it's definately doable with these texts.