First Previous - Page 1 of 1 - Next Last

New Member in Fife

  • 2 posts
  • # 114707



My name is Susan, I am in my late 50s and decided it was time to get some qualifications in Bookkeeping as I have been helping a couple of local businesses with their accounts for over a year.  Many years ago I helped a friend and try as she might (she was a qualified accountant) I never got my head around DR and CR, but thanks to the great training resources I am using (Training Link) I think I have it cracked finally  Smile


I am trying not to call on my tutor all the time, preferring to work things out from what I have learned to date (only started at the end of January 2017) but I am sure there will be lots of apparently stupid questions in the next few months.


I live in beautiful East Fife with my fiance, Paul and our two labradors Max (almost 16) and Findlay (4) in a farmhouse with great views of the lovely countryside.  

  • Fellow PM.Dip
  • 792 posts
  • # 114709

Hi Susan,

Welcome to ICB.

Although I am originally from Edinburgh I now live in Kellas -  a small village surrounded by farmland on the outskirts of Dundee.

I also have a black Labrador, Ben who will be 8 this August but still thinks he is a puppy despite being diagnosed with hip dysplasia! Medication is so good I sometime feel I could do with some of it!

Anyway, good luck with your studies.


  • 2 posts
  • # 114710

Hi Marilyn


Thanks :)  Not sure I know exactly where Kellas is, so many wee hamlets around.  

Sorry to hear your boy has HD.  I am something of an expert on managing HD conservatively.  My first lab had it and we had some wonderful holistic vets we worked with, so if you would like to know more, just ask.  Sam was never on painkillers and lived to be 16 1/2 and 3 days, still trying to impress the girls to the end.  Those of us who have labs have to stick together !!  We have two extra labs this week, one of the people I help with accounts is off skiing, so we have her two black girls, plus our two yellow boys, sadly the mix of colours doesnt cancel each other out like DR and CR, so the place is a tip, been busy studying most of the weekend apart from taking them out.

Many thanks again



  • Student
  • 5 posts
  • # 114714

Hi Susan, I'm also based in the East of Scotland, am in my fifties and new to ICB (although I do have a long history in public sector finance).  I have a beautiful 10 year old rescue cat but would like to add a dog to my family once circumstances allow.

Anyway, as one newbie to another, it's nice to "meet" you and I'd be happy to help with any questions - stupid or otherwise - if I can!!  Smile

Edited at 19 Feb 2017 11:49 PM GMT

First Previous - Page 1 of 1 - Next Last